Farewell Post

As the semester starts to wind down and conclude, my blog will be officially complete. I have decided that I will be ending my blog once when the semester is completely over. However, I will keep my account up so that others may use it as a guidance or influence on their own work. I might check on it from time to time, but if anyone needs to contact me, you can email me through the WordPress contact tab that is on my site.

There is so much that I have learned and valued in this course. I am a history major who hopes to one-day work in a history museum. While taking this class there are some important tips that I would like to pass along. The first one is taking pictures. Pictures are very important and they are used to express feelings and emotions that words cannot describe or express. Try to get different angles because if you use different angles, you get a different perspective. Also, try to get different kinds of shots like wide, medium, and definitely try to get closer (the closer, the better). Another important tip is about videos. Videos also very important because they give us action that we do not get from other mediums. The best way to convey or tell a story through videos is through five shot. Five shot means that you should use five different kinds of angles (wide, hands, head/face, over shoulder, different/various) to tell a story.

Another important tip is always have a plan B. You never know what is going to happen so try to be prepared for anything. Finally, never give up! Thomas Edison once said, “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” Just because something did not work, does not necessary mean you should give up or not try it again. It only takes one! It only takes one out of the thousands or millions of projects, papers, etc. that will give you success. Just because you found one that did not work, does not mean that will find one that will work.

While writing and covering stories for my blog, I have made a like of my top five posts. Here is a list of my favorite five posts that I wrote and covered for my beat.

 

  1. Red Bank Battlefield Photo Gallery
  2. West Deptford High School Marching Band Hosts 43rd Annual Music in Cadence
  3. Candlelight Tour at Whitall House at Red Bank Battlefield
  4. Places to eat in West Deptford
  5. An interview with West Deptford’s Deputy Mayor James Mehaffey

Leave a comment